Candy Crush Saga: an iconic puzzle game

Candy Crush Saga is a free-to-play smartphone puzzle game that is super fun and enjoyable to play. Released in 2012 and since then has become the iconic puzzle game that everyone knows.

You’re probably wondering what makes Candy Crush Saga so addictive? Well, its thrilling level design and fun challenges keep the player coming back for more candy fun!

Although it is not the first puzzle game to have commercial success, it was the first mobile puzzle game to have huge commercial success and thus marked the beginning of the puzzle game craze on mobile devices.

During the puzzle game craze wars, several other games were created to compete with Candy Crush’s popularity, like Toon Blast or Bejeweled. However, none were able to come close to the super popular Candy Crush. Candy Crush, at the time, was basically the king of puzzle games.


Candy Crush is a pretty basic puzzle game in that the combinations are easy and simple to understand. However, there are some combinations that you may not know.

This list will demonstrate each combination and how they work:

  • Normal combo
    The normal combo is the standard 3 candies in a row. Nothing happens.
  • Striped candy
    Striped candy is done by having exactly 4 candies in a row. It doesn’t matter if it is vertical or horizontal. It will change regardless.
  • Wrapped candy
    Wrapped candy can be done by having 5 to 6 candies and can be done by having + shape, T shape, or L shape.
  • Color bomb
    This signature candy of Candy Crush can be formed by having a line of 5 candies vertical or horizontal. Once formed, it will become a super powerful tool that can even be mixed with a striped candy or a wrapped candy for super-awesome results!

Those are the basic combinations that should help you understand what combos are and how they work.

Of course, more advanced combos require Jelly Fish or Coconut wheels, but the combos listed should help you understand the fundamentals of Candy Crush combos.

Objective & goals

The goal of Candy Crush is to score enough points to win the level. As you progress through the game, some levels have different challenges and goals that you have to complete in order to progress through the game.

Some levels might have you scoring a certain number of points, while other maps may have you clearing jelly or chocolate. Some maps even have bombs. These bombs can be deadly to the player because if the player doesn’t get rid of the bomb in time, it could result in a loss.Candy Crush Saga

Failing to meet the goals of the level will cause you to lose a heart. If you lose too many hearts, you won’t be able to play for a short time unless you choose to pay for extra hearts.

You can get more hearts by waiting for 20min+, or you can purchase extra hearts on the in-game purchases menu.

If your feeling lucky, you can spin the daily booster wheel, which gives you the opportunity to win prizes, special candies, items, and even extra moves!

The Map & Level progression

In Candy Crush Saga, you start off at candy-town, but as your progress through the game, you will encounter new level-types, harder challenges, new towns, and new experiences!

The first 30 levels are relatively easy and offer a minimal challenge; however, beyond level 30, things pick up in difficulty pretty quickly. Some levels require the utmost strategy to beat them.

The game has around 8000+ levels, meaning it will take a very, very long time to make it to the end. Since this is a mobile game and is aimed towards a casual audience, were assuming that the average player will most likely not beat all 8000+ levels.

Occasionally, Candy Crush Saga offers special event levels; there may be special levels available for the player to choose from during this time.


In conclusion, Candy Crush Saga is a classic puzzle game that is super addictive and can be enjoyed by all ages. The game has an abundance of levels and fun challenges that await the player, so there is always something to look forward to.

Candy Crush has other versions as well. Like Candy Crush Soda and Candy Crush Jelly, if you like Candy Crush, check out the other versions available.

Overall, Candy Crush Saga is an iconic puzzle game that has become extremely popular over the years. Still, for a good reason, its mass appeal and a great variety of levels are why it has become an iconic puzzle game.

In this post:
Similar posts:
V4 – stunning visuals mixed with autoplay overkill
V4 is an MMORPG mobile/PC cross-platform title developed and published by Nexon in 2020. The game is available for iOS and Android, provides content variety, more than 50 character customization options, and an open world. The gameplay is set in a lush realm, where players establish alliances and participate in various field boss battles.
If Found… – a rare & perplexing indie artwork
If Found... is a single-player visual novel developed by Dreamfeel and published by Annapurna Interactive in 2020. This adventure video game is available for Nintendo Switch, Microsoft Windows, iOS, and macOS. The goal is to erase journal entries using the fingers or mouse cursor as a tool. The player goes through two intertwining stories, deciding the order they remove the journal elements and how fast they’ll do it.
Dreams – an experimental and imaginative experience that needs more novel content
Dreams is a game creation system developed by Media Molecule and published by Sony Interactive Entertainment in 2020. The game is available in single-player and multiplayer modes for PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5. Moreover, it comes with another one that Media Molecule created, called Art’s Dream. Other titles are also available to players, and they can access user-generated content or build it using existing mechanics, fledged games, music, etc. Dreams consist of six principal sectors, and it enables players to interact with the in-game world and its interface using a cursor.
Creaks – a bizarre puzzle game where nothing feels out of place
Creaks is a platform single-player graphic adventure video game developed and published by Amanita Design in 2020. The game is available for Apple Arcade, Windows, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch. As the first major release by Amanita Design that’s not a point & click adventure, Creaks is a 2-D puzzle-platform game that centers around the protagonist who crawls through a hole in this bedroom and finds a world of monsters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *